Awards Highlight Press Club Annual Meeting

The Press Club's annual meeting made a morning appearance for the first time in its 51 year history as 60 members and guests gathered at the Bistro Room of the Seven Gables Inn for a continental breakfast on December 11th.

Bill McClellan of the *St. Louis Post-Dispatch* and KETC-TV's Donnybrook fame kicked off the affair with a light-hearted, humorous talk.

Awards were presented by President Alice S. Handelman, culminating with the club's highest honor, **The Catfish Award**, given to **Pamela Niehaus**, public relations consultant, St. Louis Community College. Pamela has been a key member of the board and as program chair has provided the club with outstanding forums on current issues of interest to the media and community. The Catfish Award stands for the highest professional standards in the communications field, dedication to the goals of the Press Club, and the respect of the board of directors who select the recipient.

President's Awards were presented to Dr. George Goodman, president for **The Logan College of Chiropractic**; Tony Ponturo, vice-president of global media and sports marketing for **The Anheuser Busch Companies**; Dennis Heinze, regional editor, *The Midwest Traveler* for **AAA Missouri**; **Joan Quicksilver and Marci Rosenberg**, cochairs of the 2007 Jack Buck National Media Person of the Year scholarship dinner and board members; Jerry Clinton, philanthropist, businessman and honorary co-chair of the 2007 Jack Buck National Media Person of the Year scholarship dinner. Unable to attend, but also recipient's of the President's Award were Ed Goren, president of Fox Sports Network and honorary co-chair of the 2007 Jack Buck National Media Person of the Year event and **Marty Hendin**, vice-president of community relations, St. Louis Carninals, and advisory chair for the Buck event. The President's Award is given to recognize outstanding service to the Press Club and St. Louis community.

The Fourth Estate Award recognizes a St. Louis media organization that has provided exemplary service to the community and was given to *The Ladue News*. Dorothy Weiner, Press Club board member and *Ladue News* editor and Lauren Rechen, *Ladue News* publisher accepted the award.

The **Press Club 2007 Journalism Teacher of the Year Award** was presented to **Nancy Smith**, journalism teacher, Lafayette High School. She received this award for her exemplary work in educating the future journalists and communicators of tomorrow.

The club's officers for 2008 were announced and are: Alice S. Handelman, president; Richard Weiss, president-elect; Pamela Niehaus, vice president-programs; Judy Kaplan, vice president: membership; Carol Lundgren, vice president: publicity; Claudia Burris, vice president: scholarships, Benjamin Lipman, treasurer, William Greenblatt, secretary.

New board members were elected for 2008-10 terms and are: Richard Gavatin, president, Information Management Systems; Margaret S. Gillerman, reporter, *St. Louis Post-Dispatch*; Thomas Eschen, vice chancellor for University Development, University of Missouri-St. Louis; Gloria S. Ross, president, Okara Communications; Nathan Shore, public relations director, Macy's Midwest. (In January, the board appointed Patricia Wente, chief executive officer, KWMU-FM/90.7)

Updates and changes to the Press Club by-laws were also presented and accepted with a vote by the attending members.

Everyone received a holiday book donated by **Macy's** and the raffle prize was donated by **Neiman-Marcus**.



Press Club 2008 officers at the Annual Meeting are (from left): Claudia Burris, VP-Scholarships; Judy Kaplan, VP-Membership; Alice S. Handelman, President; Richard Weiss, President-Elect; Pamela Niehaus, VP-Programming, Bill Greenblatt, Secretary. Not picture: Benjamin Lipman, Treasurer and Carol Lundgren, VP-Publicity.



Pamela Niehaus (right) was awarded the Catfish Award at the Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis annual meeting by Alice S. Handelman, president.



New Press Club board members for 2008 elected at annual meeting (from left) Nathan Shore, Tom Eschen, Richard Gavatin, and Gloria Ross. (Not pictured is Margaret Gillerman and more recently elected Patricia Wente)