Media Persons of the Year


For a sampling of photos from the 2012 Media Person of the Year Gala Click Here.

It was a sensational evening of fun and entertainment as we recognized media communication at its best and raise funds for communication scholarships and enterprise journalism grants.

Leisa Zigman, KSDK-TV news anchor and reporter, was honored as Media Person of the Year for her many contributions to broadcast journalism in our community.  We also honored Fleishman-Hillard, a premier public relations firm headquartered in St. Louis, for their positive, long-term impact on communications throughout the nation and the world.   St. Louis Post-Dispatch photojournalists Jim Forbes and Bob Cohen were honored for their outstanding coverage of the aftermath of the tornado that hit Joplin last year.

Ameren was our presenting sponsor and Mercy was our photojournalism award sponsor.  Chairpersons for the event were Ellen Futterman and Claire Applewhite and honorary chairpersons were Tom and Carol Voss.

The gala began at 6:00 p.m. with a cocktail reception, followed by a dinner and program in the ballroom of the downtown Hilton at the Ballpark.  It was an evening of roasting, toasting and a fabulous dinner. Enjoyed were wonderful Missouri Wines and beautifully decorated tables by Walter Knoll Florist.   You can Click Here to pay by credit card.

Sponsors for the Gala:

To learn more about our presenting sponsor Ameren, click here: 


To learn more about our photojournalism award sponsor Mercy, click here: 


To learn more about Missouri Wines, click here: 

mo wines

To learn more about Walter Knoll Florist, click here: 

walter knoll

To learn more about All American Patriot Beer, click here: 

walter knoll

To learn more about AAA Missouri, click here: 

walter knoll

Steve Edwards Studio 

walter knoll

Click Here for Media Person of the Year sponsorship levels.

Click Here to download the reservation form.


Past Awardees at the Media Persons of the Year Press Club galas

1988 Joseph Pulitzer, Jr.

1989 Bob Hyland

1990 Al Fleishman

1991 Bob Broeg & Bob Burnes

1992 Mary Kimbrough

1993 Julius Hunter

1994 Bob Costas

1995 Karen Foss

1996 Martin Duggan & Ray Hartmann

1997 Bill McClellan

1998 Charles Brennan

1999 Wendy Wiese & Bill Wilkerson

2000 Charlene Sherman Bry & Karen Carroll

2001 Greg Freeman & Dick Ford

2002 Mike Bush & Bernie Miklasz

2003 St. Louis Post-Dispatch


2006 Charles Klotzer & St. Louis Journalism Review
Russ Mitchell -- National Journalism Achievement Award*

2007 Joe Buck -- Jack Buck National Media Person of the Year Award*

2008 Vickie Newton & Larry Conners

2010 Mike Shannon

2012 Leisa Zigman

*The National Journalism Achievement Award and the Joe Buck National Media Person of the Year Award were established to recognize achievement of St. Louis media professionals whose journalistic accomplishments have
led to national media prominence.

History of the Event

In 1988, the Press Club of Metropolitan initiated the “Media Person of the Year”
Award to recognize distinguished men and women from the St. Louis media
whose exemplary performance established standards of professional conduct
and accomplishment. This scholarship dinner and roast has evolved into a
major fund-raiser, as well as one of the area's premier social events.

Today, the gala draws hundreds of people -- from the movers and
shakers of St. Louis, to everyday citizens -- with a special affinity for the media
professional(s) being honored. The event has gained the reputation of being a
memorable evening of entertainment, with the honorees graciously accepting
their "roasting" by prominent personalities and friends.

A popular part of each year’s event is the caricature. This year’s
caricatures were created by Steve Edwards, cover artist for the St. Louis
Journalism Review. Past caricatures have been created by Post-Dispatch
cartoonists and illustrators Dan Martin and Amadee Wohlschlaeger.

Proceeds from this event benefit journalism/communications
scholarships and internships, the media archives at the St. Louis Public Library,
Press Club programs, and enterprise journalism fellowships. The St. Louis
community's continuing support has enabled the Press Club to significantly
expand its funding for scholarships and fellowships.

The Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis is honored to provide
scholarships and internships to the underserved, bright communications
students who are the trailblazers of tomorrow. Tonight, as we celebrate our
20th Media Person of the Year event, we proudly salute our esteemed
honorees, as well as the past and present recipients of this coveted award.